WFP says food aid was offloaded under duress after convoy blocked in Jonglei
The agency reported that armed youth threatened two aid workers during a September 29 river convoy operation in Ayod County, preventing food from reaching Mogok.
Follow global economy, business, finance, energy, climate and public affairs through original sources, sourced data and context. (Page 353 of 425)
The agency reported that armed youth threatened two aid workers during a September 29 river convoy operation in Ayod County, preventing food from reaching Mogok.
The National Statistics Committee reported USD 57.4 billion in foreign trade turnover for January–August, with exports lower and imports higher year on year.
Industrial output reached UZS 926.5 trillion in January–August 2026, the National Statistics Committee said. The country had 65,300 operating industrial enterprises as of 1 September.
Market-services output grew 17 percent in real terms year on year in January–August, the National Statistics Committee reported. The total reached UZS 908.6 trillion.
Large enterprises produced UZS 24.2 trillion worth of clothing in January–August 2026. Andijan region led with UZS 8.7 trillion.
Retail turnover was approximately UZS 370.6 trillion in January–August. Wholesale turnover was reported at UZS 447.7 trillion.
President Taye Atske-Selassie set targets of 65 percent electricity access, 85 percent health-insurance coverage and 70 percent school-feeding coverage.
Mauritania’s Finance Ministry marked the close of a 2024–26 quantitative-econometrics training programme for officials in tax policy, tax administration and customs. The three-stage course covered data analysis, econometric estimation and causal impact evaluation; no participant count was reported.
Nigeria’s climate council called for an actionable, time-bound plan to operationalise the country’s carbon-market framework. A unified registry and digital monitoring tools are planned, but the 6 October roundtable did not announce that they were already operating.
The House Public Accounts Committee gave the HYPREP coordinator seven days to appear after four earlier invitations went unanswered. The committee said it was seeking explanations on issues raised in 2021 and 2024 audit reports; the queries remain under review.
Oyo State flagged off motorcycle distribution for school-support and mobilisation officers and announced 72,000 learner notebooks under BESDA across its 33 local government areas. The source did not state the number of motorcycles.
TCN says construction is advancing on a 330 kV Kano–Katsina line and substation. The managing director also described projects linking Katsina with Malumfashi and work at Kankia and Mashi; overall completion and commissioning dates were not reported.