Energy / WORLD

Burns & McDonnell delivers 346 MW DC Gibson City solar project in Illinois

Burns & McDonnell was the EPC contractor for the 346 MW DC Gibson City Solar Project in Illinois, which achieved commercial operation using an adjacent plant’s existing switchyard, the firm said on 1 September 2026.

Reading sizeSources ↓Share story ↗
Conceptual illustration of electricity generation, storage and connected data.Illustration
Symbolic illustration

Burns & McDonnell said on 1 September 2026 that the 346 MW DC Gibson City Solar Project in Illinois, developed by Earthrise Energy and delivered by Burns & McDonnell as engineer-procure-construct (EPC) contractor, has achieved commercial operation. The project connects through the existing switchyard of an adjacent natural gas-fired peaking facility, using available grid capacity instead of a new interconnection. It spans approximately 1,700 acres across McLean and Ford counties and is expected to generate enough electricity for approximately 46,000 homes.

The firm’s scope covered EPC services, including procurement of trackers, piles, cable, inverters and electrical balance-of-plant equipment, plus environmental support. Its construction subsidiary AZCO self-performed part of the underground electrical work, drove piles and installed trackers and modules. The team also built a 34.5-/138-kilovolt collector substation with two transformers and a gen-tie line to the existing Gibson City energy center substation, and designed and commissioned the SCADA systems for a project that serves multiple power purchase agreements.

Burns & McDonnell said terrain-following trackers limited grading to fewer than 40,000 cubic yards across the site, which it said cut grading requirements by as much as 90% compared with conventional utility-scale solar construction. It also said Gritt robotics and AI software installed part of the modules. The release did not state a contract value.

Data

Key figures

Gibson City Solar Project: key figures

Capacity, site area, expected supply and grading limit as stated by Burns & McDonnell on 1 September 2026.

Project capacity (DC)
346 MW
2026-09-01 · Observed
Site area
≈1,700 acres
2026-09-01 · Observed
Homes the project is expected to supply
≈46,000 homes
2026-09-01 · Target
Grading across the project footprint (upper limit)
≤40,000 cubic yards
2026-09-01 · Observed
Methodology

Capacity is DC capacity; AC capacity was not stated. Site area and homes supplied are approximate company figures, and homes supplied reflects expected output rather than measured supply. The grading figure is an upper limit stated for the project footprint. No contract value was disclosed.

Updated:

Structured coverage

Subjects and places

Subject proposals

Geographic references

Only source-provided geographic references are shown. Opening an external map is optional. Optional story maps use OpenStreetMap. Opening a map sends your IP address and this site’s address to the map provider; location data remains readable as text without loading the map.

  • United States · Place role: Coverage · Place type: Country or area · Location precision: Regional
    Evidence
    • Explicit preserved editorial country/region; no city or national centroid inferredwww.burnsmcd.com ↗
Taxonomy version: IPTC Media Topics 2026-Q2

Continue reading

Energy

Burns & McDonnell delivers 128 MW Georgia Power battery near Warner Robins

Georgia Power said on 15 September 2026 that its 128 MW Robins Battery Facility near Warner Robins, Georgia, reached commercial operation, with Burns & McDonnell as EPC contractor delivering the project on schedule.

Georgia Power via PR Newswire2 min read
Data included