Aqaba port handled 3.62 million tonnes of grain in nine months
Aqaba Development Corporation reported grain and transit-cargo volumes for the first nine months of 2026.
Event / data period: 2026-10-18
Published: · Updated:

During Prime Minister Jafar Hassan's inspection of Aqaba's port system on 18 October, Aqaba Development Corporation (ADC) chief Hussein Safadi presented figures on port operations. The Jordan News Agency, Petra, reported that the multipurpose port handled 3.62 million tonnes of grain in the first nine months of 2026, including 1.67 million tonnes for transit trade.
Safadi said total transit cargo at the multipurpose port reached about 1.8 million tonnes. Petra's report also gives 2025 comparison figures of 2.5 million tonnes of grain handling, no transit grain handling and 38,900 tonnes of transit cargo, respectively, but does not state which months those 2025 figures cover. The source therefore does not support a like-for-like annual change rate.
Data
Grain and transit-cargo handling at Aqaba port
First-nine-month figures presented by ADC chief Hussein Safadi on 18 October, plus 2025 comparison values reported in the article. The source does not state the months covered by the 2025 comparators.
- Grain handled at multipurpose port, January–September 2026
- ≈3,620,000 tonnes
- 2026-01 — 2026-09 · Observed
- Grain handled at multipurpose port, reported 2025 comparator
- ≈2,500,000 tonnes
- 2025 · Observed
- Grain for transit trade, January–September 2026
- ≈1,670,000 tonnes
- 2026-01 — 2026-09 · Observed
- Grain for transit trade, reported 2025 comparator
- 0 tonnes
- 2025 · Observed
- Total transit cargo at multipurpose port, January–September 2026
- ≈1,800,000 tonnes
- 2026-01 — 2026-09 · Observed
- Total transit cargo at multipurpose port, reported 2025 comparator
- 38,900 tonnes
- 2025 · Observed
Methodology
Based on the ADC presentation reported by Petra on 18 October. Quantities published in million tonnes are expressed in tonnes; the 2026 period is recorded as January–September. 2025 comparators are labelled only by year because their covered months and comparability are not stated. No change rate is calculated.
Updated:
Subjects and places
Subject proposals
- Business enterpriseSuggested
- Preserved editorial category/topic; broad candidate onlypetra.gov.jo ↗
Geographic references
Only source-provided geographic references are shown. Opening an external map is optional. Optional story maps use OpenStreetMap. Opening a map sends your IP address and this site’s address to the map provider; location data remains readable as text without loading the map.
- Jordan · Place role: Coverage · Place type: Country or area · Location precision: RegionalEvidence
- Explicit preserved editorial country/region; no city or national centroid inferredpetra.gov.jo ↗