Damascus hospital expands intensive care to 27 beds
Ibn al-Nafees Hospital reports a capacity increase and plans a further rise to 31 beds.
Event / data period: 2026-10-12
Published: · Updated:

Syria’s Health Ministry reported on October 12 that intensive care capacity at Ibn al-Nafees Hospital in Damascus had increased from 11 to 27 beds. Local health officials said the expansion also increased the number of ventilators.
The hospital plans to raise capacity to 31 beds and replace aging equipment, but the report gives no completion deadline. Officials attributed support for the expansion to the ministry and the local community; the figures describe this hospital, rather than Syria’s overall intensive care capacity.
Data
Ibn al-Nafees intensive care beds
Capacity at one public hospital in Damascus.
| Before expansion; date not stated | 11 |
| Capacity reported on October 12 | 27 |
| Planned capacity; deadline not stated | 31 |
Methodology
Figures are attributed to the Health Ministry and hospital officials in SANA’s October 12 report. Eleven beds is the undated pre-expansion capacity, 27 is the reported current capacity and 31 is a plan without a stated deadline. They are not national totals.
Updated:
Subjects and places
Subject proposals
- Health facilitySuggested
- Subject suggested from the title or summary: hospitalsana.sy ↗
Geographic references
Only source-provided geographic references are shown. Opening an external map is optional. Optional story maps use OpenStreetMap. Opening a map sends your IP address and this site’s address to the map provider; location data remains readable as text without loading the map.