# Saudi Arabia adds seven-language interactive maps for the two holy mosques

> The authority says the maps cover more than 950 points of interest and over 100,000 possible routes across the Grand Mosque and the Prophet’s Mosque.

- Canonical URL: https://newsverum.com/en/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map
- Publisher: Newsverum
- Section: Technology
- Country: Saudi Arabia
- Published: 2026-10-25T02:27:51+00:00
- Updated: 2026-10-25T02:27:51+00:00
- Event / data period: 2026-10-24
- Other editions: [Türkçe](https://newsverum.com/tr/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map.md), [العربية](https://newsverum.com/ar/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map.md), [Français](https://newsverum.com/fr/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map.md), [Español](https://newsverum.com/es/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map.md), [Deutsch](https://newsverum.com/de/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map.md), [Português](https://newsverum.com/pt/news/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map.md)

Saudi Arabia’s General Authority for the Care of the Affairs of the Grand Mosque and the Prophet’s Mosque has introduced an interactive map for visitors to both mosques. The Saudi Press Agency reported on 24 October that the interface is available in seven languages and is intended to help users explore landmarks, facilities and services, then navigate to destinations. The authority describes an information and wayfinding service; it did not publish usage totals or compare the maps with an earlier navigation system.

The authority says the map contains more than 950 points of interest and over 100,000 possible routes, arranged in 17 categories. It also includes more than 650 QR codes and six interactive screens installed on site. These are separate elements: points identify places, routes show possible ways to reach destinations, QR codes provide another access channel, and screens offer fixed access points within the sites. The announcement does not specify which points appear in each category or how route options are calculated.

The mapped locations include major religious landmarks at both complexes. At the Grand Mosque, the release names the Holy Kaaba, Maqam Ibrahim, and Al-Safa and Al-Marwa. At the Prophet’s Mosque, it lists the Rawdah Al-Sharifah, the Prophet’s Chamber, prayer mihrabs, and the Prophet’s pulpit. The map also covers other landmarks and facilities, but the announcement does not provide a complete directory or state how frequently entries are updated.

The seven-language interface is a central feature of the launch. The authority says visitors can use their preferred language to access information about locations and available services. The SPA report does not identify the seven languages, explain whether language coverage differs by feature, or say whether spoken directions are included. It also does not clarify whether every QR code opens the same map or a separate record for a specific place.

The release frames the map as part of efforts to use digital technology to improve services and help visitors find their destinations. Its scale is expressed through counts, not user outcomes: no figures are provided for downloads, searches, completed journeys, screen sessions, or people assisted. The figure above 100,000 refers to possible routes reported by the authority, not journeys already completed by visitors.

Visitors can open the map through a public link to the authority’s portal provided in the SPA announcement. The release gives no technical information about indoor positioning, accessibility functions, offline availability, privacy, or maintenance responsibilities. Such details would help users understand how the service works in crowded or low-connectivity areas, but they are not specified in the launch report.

The reported totals describe the announced service rather than demonstrate its impact. More than 950 points, 17 categories, over 100,000 possible routes, more than 650 QR codes, and six screens describe listed content and access infrastructure. The authority says the system is meant to help visitors reach destinations according to their needs and language preferences. Later reporting on usage and updates could show how that stated purpose is delivered.

## Data

### Reported coverage of the two-mosque interactive map

Counts and lower bounds reported by the General Authority on 24 October 2026.

Methodology: Direct transcription of the authority’s reported totals. “More than” figures are stored as lower bounds; values do not measure use or visitor outcomes.

| label | value | unit | period | basis | value_qualifier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Points of interest | 950 | count | 2026-10-24 | observed | lower-bound |
| Possible routes | 100000 | count | 2026-10-24 | observed | lower-bound |
| Categories | 17 | count | 2026-10-24 | observed | exact |
| QR codes | 650 | count | 2026-10-24 | observed | lower-bound |
| Interactive screens | 6 | count | 2026-10-24 | observed | exact |

Sources: <https://www.spa.gov.sa/en/N2709241> · Download data: [JSON](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map/data/haramain-interactive-map-coverage?lang=en&format=json) · [CSV](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/saudi-holy-mosques-seven-language-interactive-navigation-map/data/haramain-interactive-map-coverage?lang=en&format=csv)

## Sources

- [Saudi Press Agency](<https://www.spa.gov.sa/en/N2709241>) (Source checked: 2026-10-25; Published: 2026-10-24)

---

Cite the canonical URL above. [Editorial standards and corrections](https://newsverum.com/en/editorial)
