# OpenAI launches GPT-Rosalind access plan for academic labs

> Eligible labs at US universities can apply for up to 30 free seats for up to 12 months; model access requires approval.

- Canonical URL: https://newsverum.com/en/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs
- Publisher: Newsverum
- Section: Technology
- Country: United States
- Published: 2026-10-16T10:36:24+00:00
- Updated: 2026-10-16T10:36:24+00:00
- Event / data period: 2026-10-15
- Other editions: [Türkçe](https://newsverum.com/tr/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs.md), [العربية](https://newsverum.com/ar/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs.md), [Français](https://newsverum.com/fr/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs.md), [Español](https://newsverum.com/es/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs.md), [Deutsch](https://newsverum.com/de/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs.md), [Português](https://newsverum.com/pt/news/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs.md)

OpenAI announced the Rosalind Academic Plan on 15 October. The plan offers eligible academic labs at US universities sponsored access to GPT-Rosalind and Rosalind Workbench. The life-sciences model is designed for specialized tool orchestration in areas including medicinal chemistry, genomics and wet-lab assistance.

Approved labs can receive up to 30 Business Standard seats at no charge for up to 12 months; access to GPT-Rosalind separately requires trusted-access approval. API access is not included, and the program is currently limited to US university labs. OpenAI says research data shared through the plan is not used to train its models by default.

## Data

### Plan announcement

Sponsored product access for eligible US university labs.

Methodology: Seat and duration ceilings are from OpenAI’s program announcement; application and trusted-access approval are required, and actual enrollment was not reported.

| date | label | description | status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-15 | Rosalind Academic Plan terms | Sponsored product access for eligible US university labs. | occurred |

Sources: <https://openai.com/index/introducing-the-rosalind-academic-plan/> · Download data: [JSON](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs/data/source-record?lang=en&format=json) · [CSV](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs/data/source-record?lang=en&format=csv)

### Rosalind Academic Plan terms

Sponsored product access for eligible US university labs.

Methodology: Seat and duration ceilings are from OpenAI’s program announcement; application and trusted-access approval are required, and actual enrollment was not reported.

| label | value | unit | period | basis | value_qualifier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seat ceiling | 30 | count | 2026-10-15 | observed | upper-bound |
| Sponsored duration ceiling | 12 | months | 2026-10-15 | observed | upper-bound |

Sources: <https://openai.com/index/introducing-the-rosalind-academic-plan/> · Download data: [JSON](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs/data/plan-terms?lang=en&format=json) · [CSV](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/openai-offers-gpt-rosalind-access-to-academic-labs/data/plan-terms?lang=en&format=csv)

## Sources

- [OpenAI](<https://openai.com/index/introducing-the-rosalind-academic-plan/>) (Source checked: 2026-10-16; Published: 2026-10-15)

---

Cite the canonical URL above. [Editorial standards and corrections](https://newsverum.com/en/editorial)
