# Iberdrola outlines eight-year investment commitment for Scotland grid

> Iberdrola said it will invest €20 billion in Scotland’s electricity transmission and distribution networks over the next eight years.

- Canonical URL: https://newsverum.com/en/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026
- Publisher: Newsverum
- Section: Infrastructure
- Country: United Kingdom
- Published: 2026-10-10T17:23:44+00:00
- Updated: 2026-10-12T06:27:27+03:00
- Event / data period: 2026-10-08
- Other editions: [Türkçe](https://newsverum.com/tr/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026.md), [العربية](https://newsverum.com/ar/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026.md), [Français](https://newsverum.com/fr/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026.md), [Español](https://newsverum.com/es/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026.md), [Deutsch](https://newsverum.com/de/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026.md), [Português](https://newsverum.com/pt/news/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026.md)

Iberdrola and ScottishPower chairman Ignacio Galán met Scotland’s First Minister John Swinney on October 8 to discuss the company’s investment plans. ScottishPower said Iberdrola had committed €20 billion to Scotland’s electricity transmission and distribution networks over the next eight years, representing 60 percent of the group’s planned UK investment.

The company said the spending is intended to increase grid capacity, accommodate new electricity demand and connect additional renewable generation. The announcement states an investment commitment and its intended purposes; it gives no project-by-project schedule or completed capacity increase.

## Data

### Investment commitment announcement

ScottishPower's October 8 announcement of Iberdrola's commitment to Scotland's grid.

Methodology: This record reflects the announced commitment; it is not reported expenditure or completed grid capacity.

| date | label | description | status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-08 | Iberdrola announced an eight-year investment commitment for Scotland's networks | The company reported a commitment to invest €20 billion in Scotland's networks over eight years. | occurred |

Sources: <https://www.scottishpower.com/w/chairman-ignacio-gal%C3%A1n-meets-with-scotland-s-first-minister> · Download data: [JSON](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026/data/investment-commitment-announcement?lang=en&format=json) · [CSV](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026/data/investment-commitment-announcement?lang=en&format=csv)

### Scotland grid investment commitment

ScottishPower reported Iberdrola’s commitment for Scotland’s electricity networks on October 8.

Methodology: The €20 billion commitment is expressed as EUR 20,000 million. The 60 percent figure is its share of the group’s total planned UK investment; this is not reported expenditure.

| Metric text (Turkish) | Metric text (English) | Metric text (Arabic) | Metric text (French) | Metric text (Spanish) | Metric text (German) | Metric text (Portuguese) | Investment commitment (EUR million) | Share of UK plan (percent) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| İskoçya şebekelerine sekiz yıllık yatırım taahhüdü | Eight-year investment commitment for Scotland networks | تعهد استثماري لثماني سنوات لشبكات اسكتلندا | Engagement de huit ans pour les réseaux écossais | Compromiso de ocho años para las redes de Escocia | Achtjährige Investitionszusage für Schottlands Netze | Compromisso de oito anos para as redes escocesas | 20000 | 60 |

Sources: <https://www.scottishpower.com/w/chairman-ignacio-gal%C3%A1n-meets-with-scotland-s-first-minister> · Download data: [JSON](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026/data/investment-commitment-figures?lang=en&format=json) · [CSV](https://newsverum.com/api/v1/articles/iberdrola-scotland-grid-eight-year-investment-commitment-2026/data/investment-commitment-figures?lang=en&format=csv)

## Sources

- [ScottishPower](<https://www.scottishpower.com/w/chairman-ignacio-gal%C3%A1n-meets-with-scotland-s-first-minister>) (Source checked: 2026-10-10; Published: 2026-10-08)

## Correction history

- 2026-10-12T06:27:27+03:00: Wording in the translations of data labels or explanations was corrected.

---

Cite the canonical URL above. [Editorial standards and corrections](https://newsverum.com/en/editorial)
